The Masters House, St. Katherines, High Street, Ledbury.
Grade II Listed Building
Splitlath BC employed as subcontractors by Speller Metcalfe to undertake timber frame repairs/masonry works to a medieval timber frame structure originally constructed in 1487.
Herefordshire Council has received a grant of over £1m from the Heritage Lottery Fund for the restoration of The Master’s House in Ledbury.
The project, which is also funded by Herefordshire Council, will restore the medieval building so that it can once again play a central role in serving the local community. The Heritage Lottery funding will pay for the restoration of the medieval timber frame, roof and external restoration work as well as a range of community activities including open days during the restoration project.
Once completed the building will provide a fully accessible library service for Ledbury, meeting rooms and office accommodation for Herefordshire Council staff. It will also become the official home of the John Masefield Archive, a collection of books, pictures, photos and artefacts related to Masefield, his poetry and life.
St Michael and All Angels Church, Kingsland is a Norman church with particularly fine medieval stained glass. Kingsland church boasts a lovely 14th century chantry chapel, and a Victorian painted ceiling in the chancel.
The church was built between 1290-1310 by the powerful Mortimer family, who were responsible for many churches in this area of north Herefordshire.